2017 Governor's Challenge: Day 1 Notebook


SALISBURY, MD - Even when Mardela (Md.) doubled and triple teamed him in Tuesday’s Governor’s Challenge matchup, Harford
Christian (Md.) 2018 guard Derreck Orr didn’t slow down. In the first half, the senior charged out of the gate for 24 points to give his team a comfortable 18-point lead. Despite the defense’s best effort, Orr eventually set an event record for most points scored in a single game with 44.


Harford Christian won, 75-71, and advances to the Bracket 5 championship against The Salisbury School (Md.) on Wednesday at 1:30 p.m.


When asked what it was like to be locked in, Orr said, “The rim just keeps getting bigger. I try to get as many shots up as I can. My teammates know when I’m hot, so they just try to keep feeding me and stick with what’s working.”

On a team that brought just seven players to the event, Orr inherited the bulk of the load. He finished 13-for-19 from the floor (5 of 6 from deep), while making 13 of 17 free throws.

“Shots were just falling,” said Orr, who added five assists and three steals. “My teammates were doing a good job of seeing me on the break.”

Though he entered the tournament averaging over 20 points a contest, the senior said his season has gotten off to a slow start. Orr is a 6-foot combo guard with a cool, compact shooting stroke.

When asked to describe his game to someone who hasn’t watched him play before, Orr answered, “I’ll say I’m a scorer. I can do a little bit of everything I have to play intense defense and stay 100 percent, take no plays off, but mainly [a] scorer.”

Orr said he has offers from Division III Hood College (Md.) and Wright State-University Lake Campus, a United States Athletic Association program in Ohio. Interest includes many Division III’s like Stevenson (Md.) and Salisbury (Md.).


The CH Flowers Jaguars (Md.) are no strangers to the Governor’s Challenge, having made consistent bracket championship appearances over the past six years.

That stretch continued in impressive fashion Tuesday, as the Jaguars rolled to an 88-51 win over Parkside (Md.) to advance to Wednesday’s Bracket 1 Final against Oakdale.

“We enjoy seeing a different style of play,” Flowers coach Brian Brooks said. “You always run up on two teams playing totally different than the way we play in PG, and it’s always good to see how your kids respond to a different type of officiating and a different environment. You get to see how they get up and get down.”

After a tight first quarter, the Jaguars outscored the Rams 28-11 in the second quarter to blow the game open. 2019 wing Cornelius Hawkins led all scorers with 20 points, while 2018 guard Christian Zitney added 10.


Indian River (DE) had three players post double-double scoring and rebounding performances in a 61-35 win over Queen Anne’s County.

2019 guard Jameir Felton (18 and 12), 2020 forward Ja’Shaun Johnson (15 and 12) and 2019 forward Antonio Jones (12 and 10) combined to overpower the Lions. The rebounding difference was especially pronounced on the offensive glass, where Indian River out-boarded Queen Anne’s County 32-9.


In last year's trip to the Governor's Challenge, The SEED School (DC) Falcons showed they could handle adversity by pulling off an opening win over Colonel Richardson despite dressing just five players.

This year, the Falcons proved their mettle once again, rallying from 18 points down in the second half to knock off New Era Academy (Md.) in Tuesday's finale.

Antonio Marr had 23 points and Kenneth Riley 20 for SEED, which outscored New Era 45-24 in the second half, including 26-12 in the pivotal fourth quarter. Anthony Simmons added 11 points and Zachary Clark 10.


Martin Abraham, The Salisbury School (MD) 2018 Forward
Eric Bazemore, Randallstown (MD) 2018 Guard
Anthon Beck, New Era (MD) 2018 Forward
Malik Brooks, New Era (MD) 2019 Guard
Marnick Cunningham, Carver Vo-Tech (MD) 2020 Guard
Travis Dobbins, Archbishop Curley (MD) 2019 Guard
Cornelius Hawkins, CH Flowers (MD) 2019 Wing
Malik Jordan, Kempsville (VA) 2018 Guard
Cooper Laday, Harford Tech (MD) 2019 Guard
Antonio Marr, SEED (DC) 2018 Guard
Nate Mister, Benjamin Franklin (MD) 2018 Guard
Harold Morton, JM Bennett (MD) 2019 Forward
Clarence Obiajulu, Concordia Prep (MD) 2021 Forward
Josh Polce, Walkersville (MD) 2018 Guard
Kenneth Riley, SEED (DC), 2020 Guard
Collin Schlee, Oakdale (MD) 2019 Guard
Jarren Smith, Mardela (MD) 2019 Guard
Holsen Ulysse, Laurel (DE) 2018 Guard
Mate Zsebe, The Salisbury School (MD) 2018 Guard